Geography Category Definitions


The sixth largest continent, separated from Asia by the Ural Mountains, the Caspian Sea, and the Black Sea. The Mediterranean Sea separates Europe from Africa and the Middle East. In this test, Russia and Cyprus are considered part of Europe, whereas Turkey, Georgia, Armenia, and Azerbaijan are considered part of the Middle East. Greenland, as it is controlled by a European state, is also part of the Europe category.


The second largest continent, separated from the Middle East by the Suez Canal and Red Sea. Although the Islamic culture in North Africa shares much with the Middle East, it is considered part of the African region.

Middle East

The region located where Europe, Africa, and Asia meet, with the Mediterranean Sea to the west, Black Sea to the north and the Indian Ocean to the south. Many Middle Eastern countries are located on the Arabian Peninsula, although the Middle East extends to the east and north to include all Afghanistan, Pakistan, Uzbekistan, and Kyrgyzstan.

North America

The third largest continent, North America comprises three countries: Canada, the United States of America, and Mexico. Although the Caribbean is commonly included in North America, it is included in the “Latin American” region. Additionally, Greenland is included in the Europe region.

Latin America

A region comprised of Central America, South America, and the Caribbean. The Caribbean includes over 7,000 islands in the Caribbean Sea, including the Bahamas, the Cayman Islands, Antigua, Cuba, Dominica, Hispaniola, Jamaica, and Trinidad & Tobago. Central America comprises seven countries – Belize, Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, and Panama. South America is the fourth largest continent, bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the East, the Caribbean Sea to the north, and the Pacific Ocean to the west.


A region combining Asia, Australia, and Oceania. The Ural Mountains serve as the separation between Europe and Asia; however, Russia is considered part of the European region. The Asian region includes Southeast Asia (India, Indonesia) as well as North Asia (China, Mongolia), but Western Asia, also known as the Middle East, is considered an independent region. Australia and Oceania, the smallest continent, is comprised of a series of islands, including Australia, Papua New Guinea, and Polynesia.


The global region comprises the entire Earth, including the politically neutral Antarctica. Global questions are international in scope, and thus cannot be categorized into a specific region defined by geography.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: